Five Songs I Never Get Tired of Hearing

These are five songs I’ve listened to since they first hit the radio. No matter how many times I hear them, I never get tired of them. There’s something special about each one that is hard to define. Whatever it is, I like it. This is good songwriting. Here they are in no particular order.

1) “You’re So Vain,” written and performed by Carly Simon. What’s cool about this song is that every cocky guy on the planet believes it was written for him. Very skillfully presented. The opening bass is cool. Can’t get enough of this one.

2) “Thunder Island,” written and performed by Jay Ferguson. This was a hit in 1978. It featured Joe Walsh on guitar. Love it.

3) “Eve of Destruction” is a song written by P.F. Sloan and performed by Barry McGuire (among others, including Paul Revere and the Raiders). It’s a protest song with some of the strongest, most vivid lyrics I’ve ever heard. Great tune.

4) “Runnin’ on Empty,” written and performed by Jackson Browne. This is a great song about getting older and looking back on your life. It uses the awesome analogy of traveling down a highway. I always sing along when this is comes on the radio.

5) “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl),” written by Elliot Lurie and performed by the band Looking Glass. This is maybe one of my favorite songs ever. I can play it over and over again. Descriptive lyrics about a sailor who forsakes a girl who loves him in favor of his true love, the sea. A true classic.

There are so many songs I never get tired of, particularly from the singer/songwriters of the ’70s, but these are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

